Saturday, 22 November 2008

Chile In Contention To Host 2015 Women's World Cup

FIFA president Sepp Blatter has described Chile's bid to host the 2015 Women's World Cup as a "serious proposal," and indicated that they and Canada are the only two nations to have so far expressed an interest in hosting the competition.

The Women's U-20 World Cup is currently taking place in Chile and Blatter is impressed by the manner in which the tournament has been organised by the host nation, putting them in a prime position for the senior competition in 2015.

"I must congratulate the organisers of the first worldwide women's competition taking place in South America," he told reporters at a news conference on Friday.

"The exisiting infrastructure is impressive and will no doubt be improved upon with additional stadia between now and 2015..."

Having missed out on the hosting the 2011 competition to Germany, Canada are currently Chile's only competition for the 2015 tournament, although other nations could yet enter the fray before FIFA's selection process gets underway.

1 comment:

bathmate said...

very good posting. thank you. :)